City and surrounding

Schifflange (Luxembourgish: Schëffleng, German: Schifflingen) is a commune and town in south-western Luxembourg. It is part of the canton of Esch-sur-Alzette, which is part of the district of Luxembourg.

As of 2005, the town of Schifflange, which lies in the west of the commune, has a population of 7,849.

Schifflange was formed on 15 August 1876, when it was detached from the commune of Esch-sur-Alzette. The law forming Schifflange was passed on the 6 July 1876.

Schifflange was the birthplace of ATP Tour tennis player Gilles Müller and two of Luxembourg’s six Members of the European Parliament: Astrid Lulling and Jean Spautz.